Home > Research > Publications & Outputs > A Regression Discontinuity Stochastic Frontier ...

Associated organisational units

Electronic data

  • RD-sfm

    Rights statement: This is the peer reviewed version of the following article: Johnes, G, Tsionas, MG. A regression discontinuity stochastic frontier model with an application to educational attainment. Stat. 2019; 8:e242. https://doi.org/10.1002/sta4.242 which has been published in final form at http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/sta4.242 This article may be used for non-commercial purposes in accordance With Wiley Terms and Conditions for self-archiving.

    Accepted author manuscript, 777 KB, PDF document

    Embargo ends: 22/08/20

    Available under license: CC BY-NC: Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License

Links

Text available via DOI:

View graph of relations

A Regression Discontinuity Stochastic Frontier Model with an Application to Educational Attainment

Research output: Contribution to journalJournal article

Published
Article numbere242
<mark>Journal publication date</mark>1/09/2019
<mark>Journal</mark>Stat
Issue number1
Volume8
Publication statusPublished
Early online date22/08/19
Original languageEnglish

Abstract

We extend the regression discontinuity design model to the case in which the line of best fit is replaced by a stochastic frontier. The method allows causality issues to be examined in a context where the performance measure is subject to inefficiency, and where, in addition to the relationship between dependent and explanatory variables, there may be a discontinuity in the inefficiency measure at the break. In the tradition of Battese and Coelli (1995), the inefficiency scores are modelled as part of the system but we follow a novel non-parametric approach. We illustrate the method with an application to data from Texas on class size and pupil performance, exploiting a Maimonides rule discontinuity. We find that class size affects performance in the expected direction, but that there is a corresponding effect in the opposite direction on efficiency. This may contribute to the difficulty experienced by authors of earlier studies in identifying a class size effect.

Bibliographic note

This is the peer reviewed version of the following article: Johnes, G, Tsionas, MG. A regression discontinuity stochastic frontier model with an application to educational attainment. Stat. 2019; 8:e242. https://doi.org/10.1002/sta4.242 which has been published in final form at http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/sta4.242 This article may be used for non-commercial purposes in accordance With Wiley Terms and Conditions for self-archiving.