Home > Research > Prizes > Papatango Prize 2021
View graph of relations

Papatango Prize 2021

Prize: Prize (including medals and awards)

Tajinder Hayer (Recipient)

From the Papatango website: 'Launched in 2009, the Papatango New Writing Prize is the biggest playwriting award in the UK, attracting more annual entries than any other. Despite this, it is also unique in offering personal feedback, supporting new writers and generating new work for the entire sector. The Prize has long led provision for emerging playwrights, being exceptional in committing to produce and publish as well as award a follow-up commission to its winner. No other company makes such an investment in new talent. In 2021 the Prize has been reimagined to address the extraordinary circumstances facing early-stage artists. In partnership with English Touring Theatre, it will expand to support three, not one, winners, awarding each £2000, an audio production, and digital publication with Nick Hern Books. These audio productions will then tour the UK in free listening stations, with scripts including braille translations, so that audiences everywhere can enjoy brilliant new writing in their local theatre when such programming is under threat. Venues already confirmed for the tour include Bristol Old Vic, Bush Theatre, Chichester Festival Theatre, Liverpool Everyman & Playhouse, Lyric Theatre Belfast, Stephen Joseph Theatre, Southwark Playhouse, Theatre Clwyd and Theatre Royal Plymouth.'
Awarded date31/07/2021
Degree of recognitionNational
Granting OrganisationsPapatango Theatre Company