Home > Research > Prizes > 2009 best paper award


View graph of relations

2009 best paper award

Prize: Prize (including medals and awards)

Robert Young (Recipient)

We report on the optical properties of a newly developed site-controlled InGaAs Dots in GaAs barriers grown in pre-patterned pyramidal recesses by metalorganic vapour phase epitaxy. The inhomogeneous broadening of excitonic emission from an ensemble of quantum dots is found to be extremely narrow, with a standard deviation of 1.19 meV. A dramatic improvement in the spectral purity of emission lines from individual dots is also reported (18-30 ueV) when compared to the state-of-the-art for site controlled quantum dots.
Awarded date1/01/2009
Granting OrganisationsTyndall national Institute